I’ve never been to the Stitches and Craft show and had a free day last weekend, so went along.  I was looking forward to a huge expo where I could do workshops and see what crafty people outside the quiltosphere were doing.  Unfortunately I thought it was lame, and I feel confident in saying so because my friend Annemarie thought so too 😉

Seriously folks.  Does the world need fifteen stalls selling cross stitch patterns with twee verses, sad, dated little flowers, and stick on jewels?

Some good parts were worth going for.  A handful of brave crafters had stalls.  The ‘Handmade Nation‘ doco was an enjoyable way to look at cool crafters’ lifestyles while I drank an overpriced Expo coffee (although it was really a long advertisement rather than hard-hitting documentary).

Someone deliberately misunderstood a sign asking for  ‘craft secrets’, which made me giggle:

And someone else lent the show a gorgeous 30s quilt, though I don’t know who as the quilt display was strangely devoid of names.  Perhaps the maker labelled the quilt, but like most quilters I don’t feel comfortable touching display quilts.  Does anybody know the name of the pattern?

Another plus: on the way home I saw the overexpensive and undersafe Southern Star looking beautiful for the first time.  It took Melbourne’s first hard rain in four years to show me its happy face.  Of course: white against a stormy grey sky.  This is from North Melbourne station.

And then the best part: getting home and laying everything out on the bed.

There were only three or four stalls selling fabric, and less with interesting fabric, but of course I did find some bits and pieces to buy.  The fabric here is all for my hexagons (even finished a flower on the train home!).  It is odd to be buying new fabric for a ‘scrap’ quilt, but when the pieces are small, I’m sure it’s fine with the Quilt Goddess.  I bought some applique scissors and pins for reasons that I’ll explain in another post, some variegated embroidery thread, twenty little pieces of the most gorgeous feedsack fabric, and I especially love the yellow rose print and the little owls.

So to wrap: unless there are some major changes to the Expo, I’ll stick to quilt fairs.  For I need not your smocked and bedazzled toilet roll holders.

