Thanks to Meli and Camelshoes for two lovely, long, thought out responses to my post about careers.  It was just what I needed. By the time I read them, I had had enough time to decide that the counsellor had rocks in her head, but not enough time or distance from my own situation to think of some new paths, new reasons for the PhD.

I don’t think I was clear enough in the original post: some of you may remember that I’ve been on a six month break.  I’m due back on the 15th, and have been having all sorts of strange feelings about it.  Like wanting to move to Hoi An and make a name for myself as a designer of exotic textiles 😉 … or turning pirate… the Going Back is associated with a lot of mixed feelings.

At the heart of it, as camelshoes points out (it is strange, BTW, to use the net moniker of a personal friend!), the study should be worth doing for its own sake.  I think mine is.  I have to let go of trying to impress anyone with the amazingness of my writing or the manyness of my publications (ha!), and let go also of comparing myself to anyone.

Finally, meli, thanks for the link.  I’ve been listening and enjoying.  And thinking to myself: if I was an employer, and I met me five years into the future, I would see part time library administration in the most nationally and internationally connected office of the State Library, a Masters and a PhD in different areas of Literature, some publications, a history of events management, and some teaching.  And I would think that was pretty great — certainly ‘enough’ — for a 32 year old.  I would see that as a solid foundation for all sorts of occupations either in adult education/education administration, library management, literary events, events of all kinds really.  Probably the job I want hasn’t been invented.  Last week they advertised the position of events manager for the new Centre for Books and Ideas.  I am not qualified yet for that job, but I could be, given my path, given time.  And a PhD will be nothing but good.

