As promised: photos of CERES plots.  I had a lot of fun and got a little sunburn choosing one today.  The numbering on the plots is a little… interesting… but that’s OK as part of going to CERES, for me, is inspecting what people are growing in each little patch of dirt.

There’s always the lazy option, a sea of potatoes (or perhaps the owner just really likes potatoes):

Then there’s the serendipitous garden that flourishes even when nobody’s paying it much attention:

And then there’s the handful of sublime, intensively cultivated gardens.  Most of these didn’t photograph well as their owners have built tall wire fences; I’ll try again next time, and see if I can’t ask permission to step inside.  Some have grapes, others are chock full of heritage tomatoes.  The white piping on the far end in this garden houses tiny salad greens and strawberries.

But here is my new bit of wonderful.  Number 9. I feel so ridiculously lucky… there are 50 of these allotments and a heck of a lot more people living and working in Moreland.  As far as I can tell, it has a decent soil structure, a brick path which I hope the last owner is leaving for me, and it gets limited shade from a plum tree nearby.  I’m told I might have hassles with tree roots but I don’t mind building it up off the ground.  There’s even a bench and a patch of grass that you can picnic on if you visit me!

I have 2500 NaNoWriMo words to do left in my 5500 goal for the day, and all I can think about is punnets and little paper packets of seeds.

