My Mum’s mini Schnauzer is staying with us for a week or two.  I’d meant to post half an hour ago to show my next dress pattern, but Mitzi was getting restless.  After a game of chasey around the house, she volunteered to be my pattern model.  Selfless of her.

Thanks to Nicole for the advice to buy Burda or Butterick patterns.  The Lady Who Knows at my favourite fabric shop agrees that New Look are tragic.  Which is an ego boost.   I’m also looking for a copy of the Walkaway Dress (Butterick 4790) in something close to my size.

This is much more complicated to make than the New Look is, but that’s a good thing: it’s fully adjustable, as a pattern should be, and it’s nicely finished.  Plus, it’s a real wrap dress, not a goofy fake.  The waist closes in two stages: two sets of hooks and eyes, and then a belt.  A nice touch, and one that can even be adjusted in the future if the dress turns out well and outlasts my current size.

